Filmworks VII:
Cynical Hysterie Hour

Before Zorn acquired the rights to Cynical Hysterie Hour from CBS/Sony and released it on his Tzadik label, it was one of the most sought after titles in his discography, having previously been released in Japan for only a few months. In addition, the seventh Filmworks is some of Zorn's freshest and most captivating music. The album is a collection of four soundtracks Zorn did for Japanese animator Kiriko Kubo's short cartoons. The results are awesome, a music that conveys the weird logic of cartoons without ever becoming too sappy. This is one of Zorn's best albums, really really good stuff. Highly recomended.

Click Here for the  liner notes.

Kiriko Kubo - vocal
Bill Frisell - electric guitar and acoustic guitar, banjo
Robert Quine - electric guitar
Marc Ribot - electric guitar, banjo
Arto Lindsay - electric guitar
Carol Emanuel - harp
Jill Jaffe - violin, viola
Maxine Neuman - cello
Peter Scherer - keyboards
Wayne Horvitz - keyboards
Christian Marclay - turntables
Ikue Mori - drum machine
Kermit Driscoll - acoustic and electric bass
David Hofstra - acoustic and electric bass
Cyro Baptista - Brazilian Percussion
Bobby Previte - drums, percussion

Home // Naked City // Masada // Tributes // Filmworks // Classical // Various